Does Living a Gluten-Free Lifestyle Mean You Have to Cut Out Your Favorite Caffeinated Beverages?
The Short Answer:
Yes, most soda products are gluten-free.
The Long Answer:
While most soda products are gluten-free, there are some exceptions out there. Any gluten content found in soda often originates in the caramel coloring. Many soda companies use corn or cane sugar for this, which contain no gluten. Some, however, use barley, which would inject gluten content into the beverage.
Both Pepsi and Coke, the two largest soda companies in the world, report that no gluten exists in their products.
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a name for proteins found in rye, wheat, barley and triticale. Gluten functions as an edible adhesive, holding foods together and maintaining their shape.
Gluten can be dangerous for those with an autoimmune reaction known as celiac disease. Affected individuals could see heightened weight loss, vomiting, abdominal pain, bloating, persistent diarrhea or constipation, brain fog and a skin disease called dermatitis.
Gluten is also known to cause gut inflammation, which can lead to digested food making its way into the bloodstream through the intestines. As such, harmful viruses and bacteria that would have normally been eliminated by the digestive system could be let loose into the bloodstream.
Eliminating gluten from your diet can lead to easy weight loss and increased energy in individuals, which is why it has become such a popular diet trend.
Leave a Reply