Mustard is a Popular Condiment for Most Diets. But Can You Have Mustard if You’re Cutting Out Gluten?
The Short Answer:
Yes, Mustard is gluten-free!
The Long Answer:
Almost all prepared mustards contain no gluten, but as always when on this kind of diet, there are exceptions. It’s always important to check your nutrition labels, as some mustards have been known to contain wheat flour of malt vinegar, which are sources of gluten.
If you’re using mustard flour or mustard powder as a cooking ingredient, you’re also in the clear. Both products are made from finely ground mustard seed and they are free of gluten. While we looked into this, we also found the answer for which condiments are Whole30 approved, and you might be pleasantly surprised. Be sure to check it out!
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a name for proteins found in rye, wheat, barley, and triticale. Gluten functions as an edible adhesive, holding foods together and maintaining their shape.
Gluten can be dangerous for those with an autoimmune reaction known as celiac disease. Affected individuals could see heightened weight loss, vomiting, abdominal pain, bloating, persistent diarrhea or constipation, brain fog and a skin disease called dermatitis.
Gluten is also known to cause gut inflammation, which can lead to digested food making its way into the bloodstream through the intestines. As such, harmful viruses and bacteria that would have normally been eliminated by the digestive system could be let loose into the bloodstream.
Eliminating gluten from your diet can lead to easy weight loss and increased energy in individuals, which is why it has become such a popular diet trend.