Where Does Milk Fall in a Gluten Free Diet? Do Dairy Products Contain Gluten?
The Short Answer:
Yes, milk is gluten free, but some dairy products may contain gluten.
The Long Answer:
I’ve said in my blog about whether cheese was a part of the keto diet that I find the thought of eliminating dairy from my daily life to be daunting. If you’re like me, you want a diet that allows milk, cheese and dairy products. So, good news for all you gluten free folks out there, milk is naturally gluten free.
Plain old regular milk is perfectly fine to drink, but those of you with gluten allergies should double check what milk-based products you’re taking off the shelves. Foods made from chocolate milk, yogurt and ice cream run the risk of containing additives created from grains, which does contain gluten. A quick check of the label should be enough to keep your gluten free diet on track!
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a name for proteins found in rye, wheat, barley and triticale. Gluten functions as an edible adhesive, holding foods together and maintaining their shape.
Gluten can be dangerous for those with an autoimmune reaction known as celiac disease. Affected individuals could see heightened weight loss, vomiting, abdominal pain, bloating, persistent diarrhea or constipation, brain fog and a skin disease called dermatitis.
Gluten is also known to cause gut inflammation, which can lead to digested food making its way into the bloodstream through the intestines. As such, harmful viruses and bacteria that would have normally been eliminated by the digestive system could be let loose into the bloodstream.
Eliminating gluten from your diet can lead to easy weight loss and increased energy in individuals, which is why it has become such a popular diet trend.
Leave a Reply