Does switching to a vegan lifestyle mean that you have to give up your chocolate addiction?
The Short Answer
Yes! Many chocolates are vegan, but you have to read the label.
The Long Answer
Now, to start off, I’m not vegan. Not at all. I’m about as far from vegan as a person can get. So, when I first heard this question I thought, “well duh, of course chocolate isn’t vegan.” I think that came from a place of constantly associating chocolate with milk. But, I was very wrong, and most natural chocolate can be included in a vegan diet.
The heck, you say? It’s true. Chocolate comes from a bean found in the pod of a cocoa tree. But beware, don’t give just any chocolate to your vegan love on Valentine’s Day. You have to check the label. Safe vegan chocolate features no additives. Its ingredients primarily consist of cocoa, cocoa butter, sugar and sometimes lecithin and vanilla. All of these ingredients are natural, plant-based and perfect for vegan consumption. However, most of the common chocolate bars you buy for Halloween candy contain dairy-based additives, making them a no-go for your vegan friend.
So, while chocolate is a vegan food, it’s always important to do your homework, read your labels and ensure that the chocolate you’re buying is of high vegan quality. Now, if you’re looking for gluten-free chocolate, that’s another story. Good thing for you, we also share what you need to know to make sure your chocolate is gluten-free.