Many Americans are Choosing to Live a Gluten Free Life, But Does That Mean You Have to Give Up Your Morning Cup of Coffee?
The Short Answer:
Yes, most plain coffee is gluten-free, but it has been known to trigger a reaction in some gluten sensitive people.
The Long Answer:
Plain unflavored black coffee is gluten-free. Some varieties contain a tiny bit of gluten, but the level is very low. As always, it’s important to check your nutrition labels to be sure. Despite a lack of gluten, coffee has been known to trigger gastrointestinal symptoms in gluten-sensitive individuals.
Coffee contains large amounts of caffeine, and while that’s why we love it so, it also makes it difficult to digest. Folks with gluten sensitivity who might be experiencing an already irritated digestive system could find themselves ill-prepared to handle the strain that coffee and its caffeine content put on their stomach.
We also set out to learn what exactly coffee is made from. Is coffee a nut, a bean, or something else entirely? Check out what we discovered when we set out to answer the all-important question “Is coffee a nut or what?!”
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a name for proteins found in rye, wheat, barley and triticale. Gluten functions as an edible adhesive, holding foods together and maintaining their shape.
Gluten can be dangerous for those with an autoimmune reaction known as celiac disease. Affected individuals could see heightened weight loss, vomiting, abdominal pain, bloating, persistent diarrhea or constipation, brain fog and a skin disease called dermatitis.
Gluten is also known to cause gut inflammation, which can lead to digested food making its way into the bloodstream through the intestines. As such, harmful viruses and bacteria that would have normally been eliminated by the digestive system could be let loose into the bloodstream.
Eliminating gluten from your diet can lead to easy weight loss and increased energy in individuals, which is why it has become such a popular diet trend.
Leave a Reply