Does Living a Gluten-Free Lifestyle Mean Giving Up Cheese? What About Cheese Based Products Like Cheesecake?
The Short Answer
Most cheese is gluten-free, but many cheese products are not. It’s important to check your labels.
The Long Answer
Cheese is kind of a big deal with me. It’s the thing I love the most in this world. So, if I were to suddenly attempt to live a gluten-free lifestyle, would I have to cut cheese out of my life? Thankfully, the answer is no.
Most varieties of cheese are gluten-free. Many of the usual suspects like cheddar, parmesan, feta, provolone, ricotta, brie, and Swiss are perfectly acceptable for individuals living a gluten-free life. Some varieties of blue cheese and cottage cheese can contain gluten though, so it’s important to check your labels.
Cheese products like cheesecake and mozzarella sticks do contain gluten and should be avoided. Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s so important to check your labels!
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a name for proteins found in rye, wheat, barley, and triticale. Gluten functions as an edible adhesive, holding foods together and maintaining their shape.
Gluten can be dangerous for those with an autoimmune reaction known as celiac disease. Affected individuals could see heightened weight loss, vomiting, abdominal pain, bloating, persistent diarrhea or constipation, brain fog and a skin disease called dermatitis.
Gluten is also known to cause gut inflammation, which can lead to digested food making its way into the bloodstream through the intestines. As such, harmful viruses and bacteria that would have normally been eliminated by the digestive system could be let loose into the bloodstream.
Eliminating gluten from your diet can lead to easy weight loss and increased energy in individuals, which is why it has become such a popular diet trend.