If You’re Living Your Life Gluten Free Does That Mean You Can’t Have Bananas?
The Short Answer:
No, Bananas do not contain gluten, however, some individuals with a gluten intolerance might still have issues with them.
The Long Answer:
The subject of bananas and gluten intolerance is an interesting situation. While the tropical fruit does not contain any gluten whatsoever, some individuals with gluten intolerant illnesses, like Celiac Disease, have issues with them.
Bananas have this effect because of a protein called lectin. Due to lectin’s similarity to gluten, it can sometimes trigger an autoimmune response. Bananas also contain another protein called chitinase, which can cause abdominal pain and gastrointestinal discomfort for gluten intolerant individuals.
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a name for proteins found in rye, wheat, barley and triticale. Gluten functions as an edible adhesive, holding foods together and maintaining their shape.
Gluten can be dangerous for those with an autoimmune reaction known as celiac disease. Affected individuals could see heightened weight loss, vomiting, abdominal pain, bloating, persistent diarrhea or constipation, brain fog and a skin disease called dermatitis.
Gluten is also known to cause gut inflammation, which can lead to digested food making its way into the bloodstream through the intestines. As such, harmful viruses and bacteria that would have normally been eliminated by the digestive system could be let loose into the bloodstream.
Eliminating gluten from your diet can lead to easy weight loss and increased energy in individuals, which is why it has become such a popular diet trend.